Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Considered comments and questions rising from getting the maths pdf.
Hello All,
Please post considered comments or questions arising in regards of this thread
titled, "I just do not "get" the "maths" of climate science." here.

Thanks in advance,
Derek.
"So, the calculation for my "sum" would look something like,

1/2 pint of water at 20C - emission of energy + received energy from hotter object
+
1/2 pint of water at 40 C - received cooler energy from cooler object - emission of energy
=
I pint of water at 30 C."

I think the answer will not be 30C. You have to first work in metric (500g water at 20C + 500g water at 40C) then use the right equation to determine the amount of heat in each 500g of water. Then work out the combined heat in the adiabatically mixed 1kg. I did a few rough calculations and the temp may actually be 33.3333C.

It has been a long time, however since I studied heat capacity and temperature and calorimetry so take this with a pinch of salt. AS I may have got this wrong.

I'm just alerting you to the possibility that since the centigrade scale is relative to OC that simply averaging the temps may not work as simply as you would intuitively think. One needs to consider the amount of heat in each body of water, add the total heat and mass and then re-calculate the temperature of the total mass. Or my preferred approach would be experimental. In my previous job I could have done this experiment by mixing the contents of two jacketed reactors of water and measuring the temp.

I hope someone who is knowledgeable in calorimetry comes to our rescue!

HOWEVER, although an interesting science exercise- I think this is not relevant to back radiation of IR and heat in the atmosphere.
This web page almost describes the problem you have set :-

http://www.learnthermo.com/examples/ch08/p-8a-3.php
Thank you Climate Realist, firstly my apologies I meant to link back to here for you